Moon Phases

Moon Phases 2023 – Lunar Calendar

Below table contains list of all moon phases in 2023 along with dates and times. Additionally, showing Lunation number (Brown Lunation Number, BLN) for your convenience. Also, moon phase times are shown in daylight savings time when necessary and in standard time in the other cases.

Find all the moon phases like full moon, new moon, first quarter and third quarter. The data are calculated from the timezone MST (Mountain Standard Time) (UTC-07). When you are living in the western part of the USA (UTC-08) it's one hour earlier and if you are living in the Eastern part of the USA (UTC-05) it's two hours later.

Below table content name of the lunar phase and age of the moon in days

A Moon cycle takes around 29 days, 12 hours 44 minutes 3 seconds or 29.53058770576 days. These moon phases are moments in time. The periods in between are called 'waxing crescent', 'waxing gibous', 'waning gibous', and 'waning crescent'.

Lunar PhaseFrom AgeTo Age
New01
Waxing Crescent16.38264692644001
First Quarter6.382646926440018.38264692644
Waxing Gibbous8.3826469264413.76529385288
Full13.7652938528815.76529385288
Waning Gibbous15.7652938528821.14794077932
Last Quarter21.1479407793223.14794077932
Waning Crescent23.1479407793228.53058770576
New28.5305877057629.53058770576

Moon Phases for Ashburn, Virginia, United States in 2023

New Moon First Quarter Full Moon Third QuarterLunation
  6 Jan, Fri   06:09 PM14 Jan, Sat   09:13 PM1237
21 Jan, Sat   03:55 PM28 Jan, Sat   10:20 AM5 Feb, Sun   01:30 PM13 Feb, Mon   11:03 AM1238
20 Feb, Mon   02:09 AM27 Feb, Mon   03:06 AM7 Mar, Tue   07:42 AM14 Mar, Tue   10:10 PM1239
21 Mar, Tue   01:26 PM28 Mar, Tue   10:33 PM6 Apr, Thu   12:37 AM13 Apr, Thu   05:12 AM1240
20 Apr, Thu   12:15 AM27 Apr, Thu   05:21 PM5 May, Fri   01:36 PM12 May, Fri   10:29 AM1241
19 May, Fri   11:55 AM27 May, Sat   11:23 AM3 Jun, Sat   11:43 PM10 Jun, Sat   03:32 PM1242
18 Jun, Sun   12:39 AM26 Jun, Mon   03:51 AM3 Jul, Mon   07:40 AM9 Jul, Sun   09:49 PM1243
17 Jul, Mon   02:33 PM25 Jul, Tue   06:08 PM1 Aug, Tue   02:33 PM8 Aug, Tue   06:29 AM1244
16 Aug, Wed   05:38 AM24 Aug, Thu   05:58 AM30 Aug, Wed   09:37 PM6 Sep, Wed   06:22 PM1245
14 Sep, Thu   09:40 PM22 Sep, Fri   03:32 PM29 Sep, Fri   05:58 AM6 Oct, Fri   09:49 AM1246
14 Oct, Sat   01:55 PM21 Oct, Sat   11:30 PM28 Oct, Sat   04:24 PM5 Nov, Sun   03:38 AM1247
13 Nov, Mon   04:27 AM20 Nov, Mon   05:50 AM27 Nov, Mon   04:16 AM5 Dec, Tue   12:51 AM1248
12 Dec, Tue   06:32 PM19 Dec, Tue   01:40 PM26 Dec, Tue   07:33 PM 1249

For your convenience we have prepared another list, this time with both local and UTC times of each phase. A date of nearest phase is marked in red, dates of the Full Moons are in bold font.

Lunar PhaseLocal Date & Time — (America/New_York)UTC Date & Time
Full MoonJanuary 6, Fri06:09 PMJanuary 6, Fri11:09 PM
Last QuarterJanuary 14, Sat09:13 PMJanuary 15, Sun02:13 AM
New MoonJanuary 21, Sat03:55 PMJanuary 21, Sat08:55 PM
First QuarterJanuary 28, Sat10:20 AMJanuary 28, Sat03:20 PM
Full MoonFebruary 5, Sun01:30 PMFebruary 5, Sun06:30 PM
Last QuarterFebruary 13, Mon11:03 AMFebruary 13, Mon04:03 PM
New MoonFebruary 20, Mon02:09 AMFebruary 20, Mon07:09 AM
First QuarterFebruary 27, Mon03:06 AMFebruary 27, Mon08:06 AM
Full MoonMarch 7, Tue07:42 AMMarch 7, Tue12:42 PM
Last QuarterMarch 14, Tue10:10 PMMarch 15, Wed02:10 AM
New MoonMarch 21, Tue01:26 PMMarch 21, Tue05:26 PM
First QuarterMarch 28, Tue10:33 PMMarch 29, Wed02:33 AM
Full MoonApril 6, Thu12:37 AMApril 6, Thu04:37 AM
Last QuarterApril 13, Thu05:12 AMApril 13, Thu09:12 AM
New MoonApril 20, Thu12:15 AMApril 20, Thu04:15 AM
First QuarterApril 27, Thu05:21 PMApril 27, Thu09:21 PM
Full MoonMay 5, Fri01:36 PMMay 5, Fri05:36 PM
Last QuarterMay 12, Fri10:29 AMMay 12, Fri02:29 PM
New MoonMay 19, Fri11:55 AMMay 19, Fri03:55 PM
First QuarterMay 27, Sat11:23 AMMay 27, Sat03:23 PM
Full MoonJune 3, Sat11:43 PMJune 4, Sun03:43 AM
Last QuarterJune 10, Sat03:32 PMJune 10, Sat07:32 PM
New MoonJune 18, Sun12:39 AMJune 18, Sun04:39 AM
First QuarterJune 26, Mon03:51 AMJune 26, Mon07:51 AM
Full MoonJuly 3, Mon07:40 AMJuly 3, Mon11:40 AM
Last QuarterJuly 9, Sun09:49 PMJuly 10, Mon01:49 AM
New MoonJuly 17, Mon02:33 PMJuly 17, Mon06:33 PM
First QuarterJuly 25, Tue06:08 PMJuly 25, Tue10:08 PM
Full MoonAugust 1, Tue02:33 PMAugust 1, Tue06:33 PM
Last QuarterAugust 8, Tue06:29 AMAugust 8, Tue10:29 AM
New MoonAugust 16, Wed05:38 AMAugust 16, Wed09:38 AM
First QuarterAugust 24, Thu05:58 AMAugust 24, Thu09:58 AM
Full MoonAugust 30, Wed09:37 PMAugust 31, Thu01:37 AM
Last QuarterSeptember 6, Wed06:22 PMSeptember 6, Wed10:22 PM
New MoonSeptember 14, Thu09:40 PMSeptember 15, Fri01:40 AM
First QuarterSeptember 22, Fri03:32 PMSeptember 22, Fri07:32 PM
Full MoonSeptember 29, Fri05:58 AMSeptember 29, Fri09:58 AM
Last QuarterOctober 6, Fri09:49 AMOctober 6, Fri01:49 PM
New MoonOctober 14, Sat01:55 PMOctober 14, Sat05:55 PM
First QuarterOctober 21, Sat11:30 PMOctober 22, Sun03:30 AM
Full MoonOctober 28, Sat04:24 PMOctober 28, Sat08:24 PM
Last QuarterNovember 5, Sun03:38 AMNovember 5, Sun08:38 AM
New MoonNovember 13, Mon04:27 AMNovember 13, Mon09:27 AM
First QuarterNovember 20, Mon05:50 AMNovember 20, Mon10:50 AM
Full MoonNovember 27, Mon04:16 AMNovember 27, Mon09:16 AM
Last QuarterDecember 5, Tue12:51 AMDecember 5, Tue05:51 AM
New MoonDecember 12, Tue06:32 PMDecember 12, Tue11:32 PM
First QuarterDecember 19, Tue01:40 PMDecember 19, Tue06:40 PM
Full MoonDecember 26, Tue07:33 PMDecember 27, Wed12:33 AM